36th Annual Australia Day Tournament (2014)

Well, the 36th Annual Australia Day Tournament has come and gone. The tournament committee have declared it the best tournament ever (well at least this decade).

The tournament was run over four days – the first three days being extremely busy with tournament staff working from early each morning to late each night to ensure the tournament ran smoothly.

Full results can be obtained from the tournament website.

A selection of photos of competitors and spectators can be viewed on the RTC Facebook page.

Some notable efforts by local players include:

  • Ned Jordan – winner of the Boys 14 & U Singles
  • Julian Arnold – runner up in the Mens AMT Consolation Singles
  • Sarah Forward – runner up in the Womens C Grade Singles
  • Michael Morris – runner up in the Mens B Grade Singles

This year we ran a revamped Canteen which was very profitable. We also ran a profitable BBQ each morning and evening and a well patronised bar.

Lots of hard work went into preparing the clubroomsArthurs Seat Maze - Andys 48th Birthday 2013 104 and courts prior to and during the tournament. The Rye Tennis Club acknowledges the efforts of the following:

Tournament Director and team

Julian Arnold and partner Paige Sharrock  did a great job in the tournament box and worked extremely hard over the four days.

Arthurs Seat Maze - Andys 48th Birthday 2013 133

Canteen Team

led by Kaye O’Daye consisting of:

Andrea Morris, Deb Jordan,Helen Nisner,                       Bev Wilkes, Kate Keech, Heather Kingston,            Fiona Groves, Sarah Forward and                   Melinda Jones.

BBQ and Beverages team:Arthurs Seat Maze - Andys 48th Birthday 2013 135

Luke Forward, Simon Chiodo with assistance from Malcolm Jones.

Tournament Committee:

Finally we would like to thank our Tournament Committee: Luke Forward, Michael Morris, Heather and John Kingston and Simon Chiodo. Without their efforts over many months the tournament would not have happened.